Friday, December 8, 2023

Will Young’s half-century brought to life, New Zealand’s team century

In their fourth match against Afghanistan in the current World Cup, Will Young, who lost the toss to bat and got only 2 runs for the team, picked up a personal half-century. And New Zealand has just 18 over 1 ball has picked up the team century.

Devon Conway and Will Young, who opened for New Zealand today, could not take their pair far. The pair was broken by the departure of Devon Corway for just 30 runs.

Although the team broke the opening pair by 30 runs, the Afghans got a chance to break the opening pair of New Zealand by only 2 runs. But Will Young got a life when Rehmat Shah dropped Will Young’s catch at slip.

Will Young got a life but Devon Conway made 20 off 18 balls before going back to the dugout after being lbw by Mujeeb-ur-Rahman. New Zealand’s opening pair was broken by 30 runs on his departure.

After that, Will Young took the lead of the team with Rachin Ravindra. A lively Will Young has already picked up a personal half-century.

He scored 57 runs off 57 balls. Which includes 4 fours and 3 sixes.

New Zealand is one of the favorites in the World Cup. Kiwis are flying with three wins in a row. However, they have no chance to take it lightly because the opponent is Afghanistan.

Afghanistan’s World Cup mission did not get off to a good start. But the incident has already caused one. Defeated reigning champions England. They face runners-up New Zealand today with fresh memories of beating the champions. Here too they have a considerable chance of causing an accident.

Today, New Zealand is fielding with a change in the XI. Kane Williamson was injured in the match against Bangladesh. Will Young has entered the team in his place. Tom Latham will lead the Kiwis. On the other hand, Afghanistan is entering the field with an unchanged XI.

Afghanistan XI: Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Rahmat Shah, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Ikram Alikhil, Mujib-ur-Rehman, Naveen-ul-Haq and Fazal Haque Farooqui.

New Zealand XI: Devon Conway, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Mark Chapman.

(October 18/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article