Thursday, March 23, 2023

When Laxman-Dravid broke the pride of Kangaroos, the biggest ‘magic’ of cricket history was done in Kolkata

On this day in 2001: March 14 is a very special day in cricket history. On this day in 2001, VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid made such a partnership at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, which broke Australia’s pride. After this, Laxman got the title of ‘Very Very Special’ and Dravid got the title of ‘The Wall’.

What happened in 2001 Kolkata Test against AUS

Nothing looked favorable for India on the morning of the fourth day of the second Test of the series against Australia. The Indian team, which had lost the first Test in Mumbai, was playing the follow-on innings at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. At the end of the third day’s play, India’s score was 254/4 and it was still 20 runs behind Australia. India’s defeat was visible in front, but Laxman was still battling at the crease after making 109. Rahul Dravid was supporting him by scoring 7 runs in 155 balls.

Laxman’s miracle and Dravid became wall on March 14

But, on the fourth day something happened, which no one had even thought of. India did not lose a single wicket in the whole day’s batting and the score was 589/4. Laxman (275 not out and Dravid 155 not out), had added 357 runs for the fifth wicket. After a total partnership of 376 runs on the fifth day, Laxman returned after scoring an incredible 281 runs, while Dravid was run out after scoring 180 runs. India declared its follow-on innings at 657/7.

India beat Australia by 171 runs after follow on

After all, after setting a target of 384 runs for victory in front of Australia, India created history. As soon as Harbhajan Singh’s ball was taken on the pad, tailender Glenn McGrath was caught and umpire SK Bansal raised his finger. With this, India won this Test match by 171 runs. The Australian team collapsed after scoring 212 runs in 68.3 overs.

With this, it became only the third instance of a Test win despite a follow-on. By the way, this feat has been done four times in the history of Test cricket. Recently, New Zealand made this unique record by defeating England by 1 run.

Results of test matches won despite follow on

Sydney, 1894: England won by 10 runs
Leeds, 1981: England won by 18 runs
Kolkata, 2001: India won by 171 runs
Wellington, 2023: New Zealand won by 1 run

With this, India shattered the world record dream of winning the 10th consecutive series in Test cricket by the Australian team captained by Steve Waugh. At that time the command of the Indian team was in the hands of Sourav Ganguly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article