Wednesday, September 27, 2023

When does the 2023 Women’s World Cup start?

Australia and New Zealand will host in 2023 the women’s soccer world cup, to which Spain arrives in a great state of form and with hopes of improving its discreet previous results. The competition is getting closer and fans can’t wait for the ball to start rolling on next July 20. As is tradition, the host countries will be the first to play in the tournament, the New Zealanders at 9:00 against Norway and the Australians at 12:00 against Ireland.

As the World Cup is held on oceanic soil, the match times are not very favorable for Spanish fans, but those who want to witness the debut of the National Team’s players will have to be ready to sit in front of the television at 9:30 am on Friday, July 21, at which time the Spanish participation will begin with their duel against Costa Rica.

Fortunately for viewers in Spanish territory, RTVE has the rights to broadcast the event, so Teledeporte will broadcast all the matches. Some will be given in the open, while others will be offered on its online streaming platform.

Dates, groups and expectations

The tournament lasts for a full month, with the opening matches taking place on July 20 and the grand final taking place on August 20. Along the way, 64 matches will decide who wins this edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, the ninth in its history. Spain is framed in group C, which it shares with Costa Ricans, Japanese and Zambians. There are eight groups, from A to H, with four teams in each up to a total of 32 national teams.

The players of the Spanish team make up a powerful team, with the current Ballon d’Or winner and ‘The Best’, Alexia Putellas, at the helm. However, their ranks do not lack talent, with Aitana Bonmatí, Jenni Hermoso or Esther González, among others. So much so, that La Roja is considered one of the main candidates to lift the trophy at Stadium Australia on August 20. Other great favorites are Brazil (9 times Copa América champions and runners-up in the world in 2007), England (they have just been crowned European champions) or, of course, United States, which in the 8 previous editions won four titles, lost in the final once and came third the other three times. Teams like Norway, Sweden, Germany or Japan have also traditionally been powers with considerable chances of winning.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article