Tuesday, November 29, 2022

WhatsApp will let you block screen captures and recordings of ‘See Once’ messages

To improve the quality of privacy of its users, WhatsApp launched in 2021 an option to send photos and videos that could only be viewed once. Now, to make that tool even more private, these types of messages can be blocked from being captured or recorded.

As the more than 2 billion users of Meta’s instant messaging app should know, when a contact screenshots a ‘See Once’ photo, WhatsApp issues a warning.

A year later, the company is preparing this function to prevent users from recording content that should only be viewed onceaccording to a report published on the specialized website WABetaInfo.

WhatsApp is working on the ability to block screenshots and screen recordings in Android and iOS apps. With the beta version 22.21.0.71 for iOS users and beta version 2.22.22.3 for Android phonesthis new feature is being rolled out to some users.

How does the tool work?

The report adds a screenshot that shows it will not be possible to “take screenshots and screen recordings to view images and videos once”.

WhatsApp

The post adds that people can still use a secondary phone to record content on another’s screen. Also, they will be able to continue taking screenshots in a chat.

It is also important to note that the attempt to take a screenshot is always blocked but the user who sent the message is not notified and that it is not possible to forward, export or save images that disappear.

It’s unclear when WhatsApp will roll out this feature to all users, but since it’s already available to beta testers, it shouldn’t take that long.

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here