Friday, September 29, 2023

Vuelta 2023: Dainese wins the 19th stage! Complete ranking

Stage 19 towards Íscar was promised to the sprinters, and it did not escape them. Four courageous people, including three Frenchmen, made up the morning breakaway: Clément Davy (Groupama FDJ), Paul Lapeira (AG2R Citroën Team), Mathis Le Berre (Arkéa Samsic) and Michal Schlegel (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA). The Alpecin-Deceuninck team of Kaden Groves and the UAE Team Emirates of Sebastian Molano ensured the pursuit, never leaving more than two minutes of lead to the fugitives, who were finally caught 20 kilometers from the finish. Alberto Dainese (DSM Firmenich) finally beat Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) and Marijn Van Den Berg (EF Education – Easypost) on the sprint line. He had already won at the Giro in May and won his second stage on a Grand Tour this year. Green jersey Kaden Groves was caught in a fall with his teammates in the last kilometer and was unable to compete in the sprint.

The last mountain stage of this Vuelta crowned Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) yesterday, and the Belgian will undoubtedly try tomorrow to win a fourth stage in this Vuelta, on a profile that could suit him. With no less than ten climbs listed, all in 3rd category, this hilly stage of more than 200 kilometers should also make the last big gaps between the favorites, before the final arrival in Madrid on Sunday. The Jumbo Visma have decided to offer this Vuelta to Sepp Kuss, model teammate in the Giro and the Tour this year. For the American, it would be a first Grand Tour victory. Barring any incidents, the Jumbo Visma will also achieve a historic hat-trick in the General Classification by placing Jonas Vingegaard second and Primoz Roglic third.

The stage classification and the general classification

Here is the stage classification and the general classification of the Vuelta, updated at the end of each stage:

Results powered by

What are the dates for the 2023 Vuelta?

The Vuelta traditionally takes place after the Tour de France. For its 78th edition, the start of the Tour of Spain has been scheduled for August 26, from Barcelona, ​​capital of Catalonia, more than a month after the arrival of the Tour de France (July 23). The finish of the Tour of Spain was set three weeks later, on September 17, in Madrid.

On which TV channel to follow the Vuelta 2023?

Holder of the TV rights for French and Italian classics but also for the three great tours (Giro, Tour de France, Vuelta), the group Eurosport has been appointed to broadcast all the stages of the 2023 Tour of Spain on its channels.

Which teams and riders are involved?

Here is the start list for the Vuelta 2023 with the competing teams and the list of riders on the starting line.

Data powered by

The 2023 Vuelta route map

A route marked by the mountains and which leaves little room for mass arrivals… Here are the details of the Tour of Spain 2023 route with the full map:

The Vuelta route map (zoom in for more details). © Vuelta

The list of steps

After a 14-kilometer team time trial from the seaside of the Barcelona city, the Tour of Spain will end at the Zarzuela Hippodrome in Madrid. The list of steps:

  • 1st stage – Saturday August 26: Barcelona – Barcelona, ​​23.3 km (team time trial)
  • 2nd stage – Sunday August 27: Mataró – Barcelona, ​​181.3 km
  • 3rd stage – Monday August 28: Suria – Arinsal (Andorra), 158.5 km
  • 4th stage – Tuesday August 29: Andorra la Vella (Andorra) – Tarragona, 183.4 km
  • 5th stage – Wednesday August 30: Morella – Burriana, 185.7 km
  • 6th stage – Thursday August 31: Vall D’Uixó – Javalambre Astrophysical Observatory, 181.3 km
  • 7th stage – Friday September 1: Utiel – Oliva, 188.8 km
  • 8th stage – Saturday September 2: Dénia – Xorret de Catí, 164.8 km
  • 9th stage – Sunday September 3: Cartagena – Caravaca de la Cruz, 180.9 km
  • *** First day of rest – Monday September 4 ***
  • 10th stage – Tuesday September 5: Valladolid – Valladolid, 25 km (individual time trial)
  • 11th stage – Wednesday September 6: Lerma – La Laguna Negra, Vinuesa, 163.2 km
  • 12th stage – Thursday September 7: Ólvega – Zaragoza, 165.4 km
  • 13th stage – Friday September 8: Formigal – Col du Tourmalet (France), 134.7 km
  • 14th stage – Saturday September 9: Sauveterre-de-Béarn (France) – Larra-Belagua, 161.7 km
  • 15th stage – Sunday September 10: Pamplona – Lekunberri, 156.5 km
  • *** Second day of rest – Monday September 11 ***
  • 16th stage – Tuesday September 12: Liancres Playa – Bejes, 119.7 km
  • 17th stage – Wednesday September 13: Ribadesella – Col del Angliru, 122.6 km
  • 18th stage – Thursday September 14: Pola de Allande – La Cruz de Linares, 178.9 km
  • 19th stage – Friday September 15: La Bañeza – Íscar, 177.4 km
  • 20th stage – Saturday September 16: Manzanares El Real – Guadarrama, 208.4 km
  • 21st stage – Sunday September 17: Zarzuela Racecourse – Madrid, 101 km


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article