Friday, September 29, 2023

Vuelta 2023: 17th stage at Angliru, Vingegaard to dethrone Kuss? Profile and ranking

After Jonas Vingegaard’s victory yesterday, red jersey Sepp Kuss sees the Dane come back to 29 seconds in the General Classification, and Primoz Roglic is at 1’33. The three riders of the Jumbo Visma could once again fight for the final victory today, with the legendary finish at the Alto de l’Angliru. This pass, 13.1km long at 9.4% (with passages at almost 20%), will inevitably crown the strongest. Sepp Kuss will have to resist the attacks of Jonas Vingegaard, who seems determined to achieve the Tour-Vuelta double without giving his faithful lieutenant any favors. Primoz Roglic, winner of the Giro this year, is still in ambush, but he will also have to watch Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) who is only a minute behind him and will want to get on the podium.

Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step), far in the General Classification, will undoubtedly try to embark on a distant breakaway. He will want to take the points at the top of the Alto de la Colladiella and the Alto del Cordal, classified in the first category, to consolidate his jersey as best climber. Not sure that the Jumbo Visma will let the leading men win the stage, but the Belgian will play his luck bravely, with or without the favorites. We could also find the French Romain Bardet (DSM Firmenich) and Lenny Martinez (Groupama FDJ) in a breakaway, they who showed themselves strong on certain mountain stages.

Stage classification and general classification

Here is the stage classification and the general classification of the Vuelta, updated at the end of each stage:

Results powered by

What are the dates for the 2023 Vuelta?

The Vuelta traditionally takes place after the Tour de France. For its 78th edition, the start of the Tour of Spain has been scheduled for August 26, from Barcelona, ​​capital of Catalonia, more than a month after the arrival of the Tour de France (July 23). The finish of the Tour of Spain was set three weeks later, on September 17, in Madrid.

On which TV channel to follow the Vuelta 2023?

Holder of the TV rights for French and Italian classics but also for the three great tours (Giro, Tour de France, Vuelta), the group Eurosport has been appointed to broadcast all the stages of the 2023 Tour of Spain on its channels.

Which teams and riders are involved?

Here is the start list for the Vuelta 2023 with the competing teams and the list of riders on the starting line.

Data powered by

The 2023 Vuelta route map

A route marked by the mountains and which leaves little room for mass arrivals… Here are the details of the Tour of Spain 2023 route with the full map:

The Vuelta route map (zoom in for more details). © Vuelta

The list of steps

After a 14-kilometer team time trial from the seaside of the Barcelona city, the Tour of Spain will end at the Zarzuela Hippodrome in Madrid. The list of steps:

  • 1st stage – Saturday August 26: Barcelona – Barcelona, ​​23.3 km (team time trial)
  • 2nd stage – Sunday August 27: Mataró – Barcelona, ​​181.3 km
  • 3rd stage – Monday August 28: Suria – Arinsal (Andorra), 158.5 km
  • 4th stage – Tuesday August 29: Andorra la Vella (Andorra) – Tarragona, 183.4 km
  • 5th stage – Wednesday August 30: Morella – Burriana, 185.7 km
  • 6th stage – Thursday August 31: Vall D’Uixó – Javalambre Astrophysical Observatory, 181.3 km
  • 7th stage – Friday September 1: Utiel – Oliva, 188.8 km
  • 8th stage – Saturday September 2: Dénia – Xorret de Catí, 164.8 km
  • 9th stage – Sunday September 3: Cartagena – Caravaca de la Cruz, 180.9 km
  • *** First day of rest – Monday September 4 ***
  • 10th stage – Tuesday September 5: Valladolid – Valladolid, 25 km (individual time trial)
  • 11th stage – Wednesday September 6: Lerma – La Laguna Negra, Vinuesa, 163.2 km
  • 12th stage – Thursday September 7: Ólvega – Zaragoza, 165.4 km
  • 13th stage – Friday September 8: Formigal – Col du Tourmalet (France), 134.7 km
  • 14th stage – Saturday September 9: Sauveterre-de-Béarn (France) – Larra-Belagua, 161.7 km
  • 15th stage – Sunday September 10: Pamplona – Lekunberri, 156.5 km
  • *** Second day of rest – Monday September 11 ***
  • 16th stage – Tuesday September 12: Liancres Playa – Bejes, 119.7 km
  • 17th stage – Wednesday September 13: Ribadesella – Col del Angliru, 122.6 km
  • 18th stage – Thursday September 14: Pola de Allande – La Cruz de Linares, 178.9 km
  • 19th stage – Friday September 15: La Bañeza – Íscar, 177.4 km
  • 20th stage – Saturday September 16: Manzanares El Real – Guadarrama, 208.4 km
  • 21st stage – Sunday September 17: Zarzuela Racecourse – Madrid, 101 km


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article