Thursday, December 1, 2022

Vijay Hazare Trophy: 26-year-old batsman Narayan Jagdishan’s blast, scored 5 centuries in 9 days, made world record

Cricket fans are currently busy with the India-New Zealand series, but there has been a big bang in domestic cricket. 26-year-old Narayan Jagdishan has made a world record by scoring a century in 5 consecutive innings in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He has become the first cricketer in the world to do so in List-A cricket.

Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh clashed in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday. In this match, Tamil Nadu batted first and Narayan Jagadishan, who came to open, scored a brilliant century. Till the time of writing the report, he was unbeaten on 102 runs in 77 balls, in which his name included 9 fours, 3 sixes.

In this season, Narayan’s bat is speaking fiercely, if we look at his last five innings, he has scored a century in every innings. This is a big record, which he did in his name.

• Vs Andhra Pradesh – 114*, 13 November
• Vs Chhattisgarh – 107, 15 November
• Vs Goa – 168, 17 November
• Vs Haryana – 128, 19 November
• Vs Arunachal Pradesh – 102*, 21 November

Click: Deepak Hooda did ‘surprise’ amid Suryakumar Yadav’s blast

Centuries in consecutive innings in List-A cricket
• Narayan Jagdishan – 5 centuries
• Kumar Sangakkara – 4 centuries
• Alviro Pietersen – 4 centuries
• Devdutt Paddikal – 4 centuries

Who is Narayan Jagdishan?
The 26-year-old Narayan is making a splash in domestic cricket, as well as he has also appeared in the Indian Premier League. Narayan handles the opening as well as wicketkeeping for Tamil Nadu, he has so far scored in 41 List-A matches at an average of more than 45, including 7 centuries. In the Indian Premier League, he is associated with Chennai Super Kings and has played only 7 matches so far. In these, Narayan has only 73 runs.

What is List-A cricket?
List-A match is a limited over (one day) format of cricket. In the game of List-A cricket, the limit of overs can be from 40 to 60 overs. List-A cricket includes One Day International cricket, limited overs domestic cricket and also those international cricket which have not got official ODI (One Day International Cricket) status by ICC. Most cricket playing nations have some form of List-A cricket, such as the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Deodhar Trophy in India. Similarly, Royal London One-Day Cup in England and JLT One-Day Cup in Australia are famous.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here