Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Unicaja: this will be the BCL 23/24

The competition system does not change compared to last year. The regular season begins this Tuesday, October 17, with 8 groups of 4 teams each for a total of 32 participating teams. Only the first in each group will qualify directly for the next phase, the so-called Round of 16. The second and third must play a play-in in January against a team from another group to advance to the second phase. The fourth place finisher from each group in the first phase will be eliminated.

The BCL 23/24 already has its 8 groups drawn. BCL

Round of 16

Once the 16 best teams in the competition are left (the 8 that finish first and the 8 that win that play-in), Four groups of four teams each will be formed, which will play a second round-robin group. The first two in each group will play in a best-of-three quarter-final play-off, with home field advantage for the teams that are champions of their Round of 16 groups. The pairings of these quarter-final matches will be decided later of a draw in which the group champions will be seeded and the second classified will be placed in the other pot.

The BCL already knows the 32 teams that will compete in the 23/24 season. BCL

Final Four

The four teams that win this quarterfinal play off will be the ones that will play the Final Four of the BCL 2023/2024, whose venue has yet to be defined and that, unless there is a change in plans, it will be in the city of one of the teams that qualify for the Final Four.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article