Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: the 4th stage for Roglic ahead of Alaphilippe! Classification

The Tirreno Adriatico took to the skies this Thursday March 9 with a 217 km long stage between Greccio and Tortoreto. The day’s program was complex with more than 2500 meters of elevation gain with a final intended for punching sprinters at the end of a loop completed three times and a summit finish in Tortoreto (4.6km at 4.2%). The start of the stage was rather classic with a five-rider breakaway made up of Davide Bais (EOLO-Kometa), Filippo Magli (Green Project Bardiani), Mads Wurtz (Israel Premier Tech), Valerio Conti (Team Corratec) and Lucas Eriksson (Tudor Pro Cycling Team) who were no more than 3 minutes ahead of the peloton.

It was finally 60 kilometers from the finish that the breakaway of the day was caught by the vanguard of the peloton just before the first real difficulties of the day. Mikkel Honore, member of the Education First team, tried to restart the race by taking a few steps ahead, but it is especially Julian Alaphilippe who boosted the race at 35 kilometers by blowing up the peloton and in particular Mathieu van der Poel before attending a new regrouping. In the final packaging, Wout van Aert and Tom Pidcok crashed and fell leaving the field open to the other favorites of the day and probably saying goodbye to the general classification as well. In the final jump, it’s the Belgian’s teammate, Primoz Roglic, who managed to make the difference and won the stage for his comeback to competition. He is ahead of Julian Alaphilippe and Simon Yates.

What is the ranking?

Here is the classification of Tirreno Adriatico after the 4th stage with the takeover of the German Kamna in front of Roglic:

Who are the engaged?

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick-Step), Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers), Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ), Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team), Axel Zingle, Victor Lafay (Cofidis) or even Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma, Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) and Peter Sagan (Total Energy), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jayco AlUla), Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick-Step), Fernando Gaviria (Movistar Team), Mark Cavendish (Astana Qazaqstan Team) Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkea-Samsic) Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën Team), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team), Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious), Jai Hindley, Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe), William Martin (Cofidis), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Tao Geoghegan Hart, Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers), Primoz Roglic, Wilco Kelderman (Jumbo-Visma), Enric Mas (Movistar Team), Warren Barguil, Christian Rodriguez (Team Arkéa-Samsic), Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo), Joao Almeida, Adam Yates, Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-EasyPost), Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech) and other Lorenzo Fortunato (EOLO-Kometa).

What is the route of the Tirreno-Adriatico?

The runners have an appointment with seven stages in this mythical race. Regarding the course, there will be something for everyone with a first time trial stage then stages for sprinters and finally for the punchy climbers of this Tirreno-Adriatico

  • Stage 1 Lido di Camaiore-Lido di Camaiore (ITT), 11.5 KM
  • Stage 2 Camaiore-Follonica, 209 KM
  • Stage 3 Follonica-Foligno, 216 KM
  • Stage 4 Greccio-Tortoreto, 219 KM
  • Stage 5 Morro d’Oro-Sarnano-Sassotetto, 168 KM
  • Stage 6 Osimo Stazione-Osimo, 194 KM
  • Stage 7 San Benedetto del Tronto-San Benedetto del Tronto, 154 KM

What is the history of the Tirreno-Adriatico

Founded in 1966, this Tirreno-Adriatico event attracts Grand Tour winners like Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali or Tadej Pogacar.

  • 2012: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2013: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2014 : Alberto Contador
  • 2015 : Nairobi Quintana
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet
  • 2017: Nairobi Quintana
  • 2018: Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2019: Primoz Roglic
  • 2020: Simon Yates
  • 2021: Tadej Pogacar
  • 2022: Tadej Pogacar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article