Thursday, March 23, 2023

Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: Philipsen wins the 3rd stage, the classification

The 3rd stage of the Tirenno Adriatico brought the riders from Follonica to Foligno with some difficulties on the route such as the Passo del Lume Spento (12.5km at 4.2%) then will survey the climb of La Foce (5.3km at 4.5 %). From the first minutes of the race, a breakaway made up of Davide Bais and Mattia Bais (EOLO-Kometa) took the lead while two other riders, Stefano Gandin and Alessandro Iacchi (Team Corratec), found themselves chasing potatoes (between the peloton and the leading group) before being caught less than 100km from the finish. The gap with the two men rose to 6’24 before gradually falling under the impetus of the peloton led by the sprinter teams.

The breakaway was finally caught 70 kilometers from the finish, leaving the lead to the peloton which will have rolled fairly quietly to Foligno. 10 kilometers from the finish, the Jumbo-Visma of Wout van Aert attempted a edging shot and managed to break the peloton into several pieces. The victory was finally decided in the sprint with an almost complete peloton and in this little game, it was Jasper Philipsen who won on this 3rd stage thanks to a lot of work from van der Poel in the last meters.

What is the ranking?

Here is the classification of the Tirreno Adriatico after two stages:

  1. Filippo Gana
  2. Lennard Kamna +28s
  3. Magnus Sheffield +31s
  4. Brandon Mcnulty +36s
  5. Thymen Arensman+39s
  6. Joao Almeida +41s
  7. Andreas Leknessund +41s
  8. Casper Pedersen +47s
  9. Wilco Kelderman +48s
  10. Alexey Lutsenko +48s

Who are the engaged?

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick-Step), Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers), Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ), Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team), Axel Zingle, Victor Lafay (Cofidis) or even Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma, Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) and Peter Sagan (Total Energy), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jayco AlUla), Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick-Step), Fernando Gaviria (Movistar Team), Mark Cavendish (Astana Qazaqstan Team) Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkea-Samsic) Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën Team), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team), Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious), Jai Hindley, Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe), William Martin (Cofidis), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Tao Geoghegan Hart, Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers), Primoz Roglic, Wilco Kelderman (Jumbo-Visma), Enric Mas (Movistar Team), Warren Barguil, Christian Rodriguez (Team Arkéa-Samsic), Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo), Joao Almeida, Adam Yates, Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-EasyPost), Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech) and other Lorenzo Fortunato (EOLO-Kometa).

What is the route of the Tirreno-Adriatico?

The runners have an appointment with seven stages in this mythical race. Regarding the course, there will be something for everyone with a first time trial stage then stages for sprinters and finally for the punchy climbers of this Tirreno-Adriatico

  • Stage 1 Lido di Camaiore-Lido di Camaiore (ITT), 11.5 KM
  • Stage 2 Camaiore-Follonica, 209 KM
  • Stage 3 Follonica-Foligno, 216 KM
  • Stage 4 Greccio-Tortoreto, 219 KM
  • Stage 5 Morro d’Oro-Sarnano-Sassotetto, 168 KM
  • Stage 6 Osimo Stazione-Osimo, 194 KM
  • Stage 7 San Benedetto del Tronto-San Benedetto del Tronto, 154 KM

What is the history of the Tirreno-Adriatico

Founded in 1966, this Tirreno-Adriatico event attracts Grand Tour winners like Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali or Tadej Pogacar.

  • 2012: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2013: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2014 : Alberto Contador
  • 2015 : Nairobi Quintana
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet
  • 2017: Nairobi Quintana
  • 2018: Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2019: Primoz Roglic
  • 2020: Simon Yates
  • 2021: Tadej Pogacar
  • 2022: Tadej Pogacar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article