Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: Jakobsen wins the 2nd stage, Ganna still leading, the classification

The second stage of the Tirreno Adriatico this Tuesday March 7 was intended for sprinters. 210km long between Camaiore and Follonica, the latter presented no difficulty over the entire route despite the 21.4 km loop with a 1.3 km climb at 6% at 10 km from the finish. From the start of the stage, a breakaway composed of Davide Bais (EOLO-Kometa), Mirco Maestri (EOLO-Kometa), Stefano Gandin (Team Corratec), Alessandro Iacchi (Team Corratec) and Roland Thalmann (Tudor Pro Cycling Team) never really took off and was only 2 to 3 minutes ahead of the peloton which was controlled by the sprinters teams and in particular Dylan Groenewegen’s Team Jayco AlUla and Fabio Jakobsen’s Soudal-Quick Step.

In the second part of the race, Davide Bais left his companions 73km from the finish before Stefano Gandin did the same less than 68km from the finish. Two fewer men, but a return to form for the three survivors who increased their lead from 40 seconds to around 1’30 in a few kilometers. Too little all the same facing the pace of the peloton which came back 20 kilometers from the finish. The small side was not conducive to attacks despite the acceleration of the Jumbo from Wout van Aert. In the final packing, the sprinter teams finally took the lead and so it was Fabio Jakobsen, the European champion, who won in Follonica.

What is the ranking?

Here is the classification of the Tirreno Adriatico after two stages:

  1. Filippo Gana
  2. Lennard Kamna +28s
  3. Magnus Sheffield +31s
  4. Michael Hepburn +33s
  5. Brandon Mcnulty +36s
  6. Thymen Arensman+39s
  7. Joao Almeida +41s
  8. Andreas Leknessund +41s
  9. Casper Pedersen +47s
  10. Wilco Kelderman +48s

Who are the engaged?

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick-Step), Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers), Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ), Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team), Axel Zingle, Victor Lafay (Cofidis) or even Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma, Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) and Peter Sagan (Total Energy), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jayco AlUla), Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick-Step), Fernando Gaviria (Movistar Team), Mark Cavendish (Astana Qazaqstan Team) Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkea-Samsic) Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën Team), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team), Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious), Jai Hindley, Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe), William Martin (Cofidis), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Tao Geoghegan Hart, Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers), Primoz Roglic, Wilco Kelderman (Jumbo-Visma), Enric Mas (Movistar Team), Warren Barguil, Christian Rodriguez (Team Arkéa-Samsic), Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo), Joao Almeida, Adam Yates, Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-EasyPost), Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech) and other Lorenzo Fortunato (EOLO-Kometa).

What is the route of the Tirreno-Adriatico?

The runners have an appointment with seven stages in this mythical race. Regarding the course, there will be something for everyone with a first time trial stage then stages for sprinters and finally for the punchy climbers of this Tirreno-Adriatico

  • Stage 1 Lido di Camaiore-Lido di Camaiore (ITT), 11.5 KM
  • Stage 2 Camaiore-Follonica, 209 KM
  • Stage 3 Follonica-Foligno, 216 KM
  • Stage 4 Greccio-Tortoreto, 219 KM
  • Stage 5 Morro d’Oro-Sarnano-Sassotetto, 168 KM
  • Stage 6 Osimo Stazione-Osimo, 194 KM
  • Stage 7 San Benedetto del Tronto-San Benedetto del Tronto, 154 KM

What is the history of the Tirreno-Adriatico

Founded in 1966, this Tirreno-Adriatico event attracts Grand Tour winners like Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali or Tadej Pogacar.

  • 2012: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2013: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2014 : Alberto Contador
  • 2015 : Nairobi Quintana
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet
  • 2017: Nairobi Quintana
  • 2018: Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2019: Primoz Roglic
  • 2020: Simon Yates
  • 2021: Tadej Pogacar
  • 2022: Tadej Pogacar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article