Thursday, March 23, 2023

Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: Ganna smashes the clock, the classification of the 1st stage

In execrable conditions with rain, hail, wind and freshness contrary to the sun which shone on the Strade Bianche this weekend, the Tirreno Adriatico officially started this Monday March 6 with an inaugural time trial . 11.5km long between Lido di Camaiore, the route had no difficulty except for the weather and the slippery road. The course was “simply” composed of a long straight line, a half turn and a new long straight line.

If at this little game we expected a very good time from the Belgian Wout van Aert who was making his big comeback to competition (he didn’t do it all the way and finished very far), the best time was occupied for a very long time by the French time trial champion Bruno Armirail before the day’s favorites took the road. Among them, Magnus Sheffield. Impressive, the 20-year-old runner achieved a thundering time with an average of more than 53km/h, but finally lost his first place in the last minutes in favor of the German time trial champion Lennard Kamna and especially the Italian Filippo Ganna who crushed this time. Among the favorites of this Tirreno, Julian Alaphilippe set a good time, but did not play in the top 10 while Jai Hindley, Ben O’Connor, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Aleksandr Vlasov and Primoz Roglic, who was making his comeback to competition after the Vuelta, all finished outside the top 10.

What is the ranking?

Here is the classification of the Tirreno Adriatico after the inaugural time trial this Monday, March 6

  1. Filippo Gana
  2. Lennard Kamna +28s
  3. Magnus Sheffield +31s
  4. Michael Hepburn +33s
  5. Brandon Mcnulty +36s
  6. Thymen Arensman+39s
  7. Joao Almeida +41s
  8. Andreas Leknessund +41s
  9. Casper Pedersen +47s
  10. Wilco Kelderman +48s

Who are the engaged?

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick-Step), Tom Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers), Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ), Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team), Axel Zingle, Victor Lafay (Cofidis) or even Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma, Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) and Peter Sagan (Total Energy), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jayco AlUla), Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick-Step), Fernando Gaviria (Movistar Team), Mark Cavendish (Astana Qazaqstan Team) Nacer Bouhanni (Team Arkea-Samsic) Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën Team), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team), Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious), Jai Hindley, Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA-hansgrohe), William Martin (Cofidis), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Tao Geoghegan Hart, Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers), Primoz Roglic, Wilco Kelderman (Jumbo-Visma), Enric Mas (Movistar Team), Warren Barguil, Christian Rodriguez (Team Arkéa-Samsic), Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo), Joao Almeida, Adam Yates, Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-EasyPost), Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech) and other Lorenzo Fortunato (EOLO-Kometa).

What is the route of the Tirreno-Adriatico?

The runners have an appointment with seven stages in this mythical race. Regarding the course, there will be something for everyone with a first time trial stage then stages for sprinters and finally for the punchy climbers of this Tirreno-Adriatico

  • Stage 1 Lido di Camaiore-Lido di Camaiore (ITT), 11.5 KM
  • Stage 2 Camaiore-Follonica, 209 KM
  • Stage 3 Follonica-Foligno, 216 KM
  • Stage 4 Greccio-Tortoreto, 219 KM
  • Stage 5 Morro d’Oro-Sarnano-Sassotetto, 168 KM
  • Stage 6 Osimo Stazione-Osimo, 194 KM
  • Stage 7 San Benedetto del Tronto-San Benedetto del Tronto, 154 KM

What is the history of the Tirreno-Adriatico

Founded in 1966, this Tirreno-Adriatico event attracts Grand Tour winners like Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali or Tadej Pogacar.

  • 2012: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2013: Vicenzo Nibali
  • 2014 : Alberto Contador
  • 2015 : Nairobi Quintana
  • 2016: Greg Van Avermaet
  • 2017: Nairobi Quintana
  • 2018: Michal Kwiatkowski
  • 2019: Primoz Roglic
  • 2020: Simon Yates
  • 2021: Tadej Pogacar
  • 2022: Tadej Pogacar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article