Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Tigers eyes on victory

The first ODI of the three-match series held in England was abandoned due to rain. In the second match tomorrow (Friday) the two teams are entering the field again. The match to be held at Chelmsford will start at 3:45 pm Bangladesh time. Even if the game is not broadcast live on any TV channel in the country, it can be seen on the official website of ICC.

Batting at the beginning of the first one-day series, visiting Bangladesh scored 246 runs for 9 wickets in the scheduled 50 overs on Mushfiqur Rahim’s fighting half-century. The Irish could not take advantage in response. Ireland were 65 for 3 in 16.3 overs before the rain came.

Bangladesh team could have won the match if they wanted. But despite the forecast of rain, captain Tamim Iqbal did not complete the bowling of 20 overs quickly with the spinners. If at least 20 overs were played, the result of the match could have come under the rain law.

Statistics show that Bangladesh is ahead of Ireland. The two teams have played 14 ODIs so far. Bangladesh won 9 and lost 2. Three matches were abandoned.

In the 2007 ODI World Cup in Bridgetown, West Indies, Ireland won against Bangladesh for the first time. The Irish last beat Bangladesh in 2010 in Belfast. In all the matches played against Bangladesh, Ireland could not put up any resistance.

Bangladesh team:

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Rony Talukder, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Touhid Hriday, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taijul Islam, Ebadat Hossain, Shariful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud and Mrutunjoy Chowdhury. .

Ireland team:

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Camper, Gareth Delaney, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andy McBreen, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker and Craig Young.

(11 May/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article