Saturday, December 2, 2023

The format of ODI World Cup is changing

The 13th season of the ICC ODI World Cup has come down after the bat-ball battle of one and a half months. Where Australia won the title by drowning India in the blue sea of ​​sorrow.

10 teams participated in this year’s tournament. Played in round robin format. The top four teams advance to the semi-finals. The big surprise in this tournament was the rise of Afghanistan. The cricketers of the country had won the World Cup by winning four matches.

However, among these there were discussions and criticisms about many things. Many have missed teams like West Indies or Ireland in this World Cup. Many have criticized the 10-team World Cup without seeing the two-time World Cup winning Windies. Debate has also arisen over the long schedule of the round robin.

Meanwhile, the format of the next World Cup has been finalized. Where the number of teams will increase from 10 to 14. At the same time, the Super Six format will return again. This top-six format was last seen in 2003. Super Eight in 2007 and 2011 and 2015 were played in knockout format. The 2019 and 2023 World Cups were held in a round-robin format. As such, the Super Six episode will be seen again in 2027 after almost 24 years.

The next World Cup will be held in three countries on the African continent. Along with South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia will be the hosts. The last Cricket World Cup in 2003 and T20 World Cup in 2007 were held here. Both the events got huge response among the cricket lovers. In 2027, cricket will return to this region after almost 20 years.

However, the 2027 World Cup will change the format once again. Super Six will be seen again in that World Cup. Total participating countries are 14. The 14 teams will be divided into two groups. 3 teams from each group will advance to Super Six. The semi-final and final will start from there. The World Cup will start in October. Will continue until November.

As host countries, South Africa and Zimbabwe will get a chance to play in the 2027 ODI World Cup. Besides, the first eight teams of ODI ranking will be able to play directly in the World Cup. The remaining four countries have to qualify for the World Cup.

(21 November/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article