Thursday, December 1, 2022

Team India: The formula that snatched Virat Kohli’s captaincy, will BCCI adopt the same now?

There has been a stir in Indian cricket after the T20 World Cup 2022. Fans are upset, questions are being raised on senior players and there is also preparation for the future. Meanwhile, BCCI has started taking action. The selectors committee was dismissed by the board and now the search is on for a new committee. But in the midst of all this, one more thing has cropped up, which is about the captaincy.

It is believed that the BCCI is now going to adopt the policy of different formats and different captains. After the defeat in T20 World Cup 2022, BCCI may withdraw the captaincy of T20 format from Rohit Sharma keeping in mind the work load management and future. Hardik Pandya or any other young player can be made the captain in his place.

Right now these are all speculations and nothing has been confirmed by the board. But along with the new selection committee, this change can also be seen in Team India, where the Test and ODI formats will be in the hands of Rohit Sharma, while Hardik Pandya can handle the T20 format. Big countries like England, Australia or South Africa have adopted the formula. Now it is the turn of Team India.

Click: ‘Kohli se panga lene wale…’, fans celebrated on the holiday of the selectors, such a reaction came

This formula took Kohli’s captaincy?

The atmosphere which prevailed after the defeat in T20 World Cup 2022 was similar even after T20 World Cup 2021 and the target was coach Ravi Shastri, captain Virat Kohli. Even before the World Cup, Virat Kohli had talked about giving up the captaincy of the T20 format, but he wanted to captain the ODI and Test formats.

But when Virat Kohli left the captaincy of T20 format, then the selectors also took back the ODI captaincy from him. The Chetan Sharma-led selectors then argued that there cannot be different captains in different formats, at that time Rohit Sharma was made the captain of the white-ball format and Virat Kohli was only in charge of the Test team. Were.

However, after some time when there was a defeat in South Africa, then Virat Kohli also gave up the Test captaincy. In such a situation, Rohit Sharma was made the captain of all the three formats. And now when the T20 World Cup has been defeated in 2022, once again the time has come to make different captains in different formats and BCCI seems to be moving towards that.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here