Thursday, December 1, 2022

Team India Chief Selector: The race for the new Chief Selector became interesting, after Ajit Agarkar, these 3 former cricketers also stepped up

After the defeat in the T20 World Cup, the BCCI had sacked the selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma. With this, the search for a new selection committee is going on and many names are coming out who can become the next selectors of Team India. Former cricketer Ajit Agarkar’s name came up on the previous day and now some new names have been added to this list.

Former cricketer Nayan Mongia has confirmed in a conversation with India Today that he is going to apply for the post of national selector. Apart from him, former cricketers Laxman Sivaramakrishnan and Salil Ankola can also participate in this race.

Click: Who is the new Chief Selector of Team India? This veteran has taken more than 300 wickets ahead in the race

Let us tell you that the BCCI had recently sacked the five-member selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma. After this, the process of forming a new selection committee started and applications were invited by the BCCI.

In which race till now?
• Ajit Agarkar (26 Tests, 191 ODIs)
• Nayan Mongia (44 Tests, 140 ODIs)
• Laxman Sivaramakrishnan (9 Tests, 16 ODIs)
• Salil Ankola (1 Test, 20 ODIs)

What is necessary to become the chief selector
• Any player who has played 7 or more Test matches.
• Should have played 30 first class matches.
• Should have played 10 ODIs or 20 List-A matches.
• Retired from cricket before 5 years.
• Should not be a member of any committee of BCCI and can serve for the next 5 years.

Explain that the selection committee will be elected by the BCCI for five years. Among the five members who will be selected, whoever is the senior player in terms of experience will automatically become the chief selector. In such a situation, it is now visible who all are involved in the race of chief selector.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here