Thursday, June 8, 2023

Surya’s century on Mumbai’s way to the playoffs

Suryakumar Yadav’s maiden century saw Mumbai Indians advance to the play-offs with a 27-run win over defending champions Gujarat Titans in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Friday night. Mumbai scored 218 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs at the beginning of the match. In response, Gujarat stopped at 191 runs.

Gujarat team captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to field at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Mumbai’s two openers Ishan Kishan and captain Rohit Sharma were dismissed for 29 runs after batting. Nehal Wadhera got out after scoring 15 runs off 7 balls.

Meanwhile, Surya hit the last ball of Mumbai’s innings at number three to complete his century. He scored an unbeaten 103 off 49 balls with 11 fours and 6 sixes. Besides, Vishnu Vinod scored 30 runs in 20 balls. Tim David scored 5 runs in 3 balls. And Cameron Green remained unbeaten with 3 runs from 3 balls.

Gujarat Titans Afghan spinner Rashid Khan took four wickets at the cost of just 30 runs. Another wicket was seen by Muhit Sharma.

Chasing runs in a high-scoring match, Gujarat lost 8 wickets for just 103 runs due to the brilliant bowling of the Mumbai bowlers. Wriddhiman Saha 2, Shubman Gill 6, Hardik Pandya 4, Vijay Shankar 29, David Miller 41, Abhinav Manohar 2 and Afghan cricketer Noor Ahmed were out for 1 run.

In this situation, Gujarat lost by a big margin. But Rashid stormed down to number eight with the bat. Rashid scored an unbeaten 79 runs off 32 balls at a strike rate of 247 with 10 sixes and 3 fours. However, the loss could not be avoided. Meanwhile, Alzari Joseph scored 7 runs in 12 balls.

(13 May/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article