Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Suryakumar yadav India vs New Zealand: Suryakumar Yadav has a chance to shine in ODI, may also enter ODI World Cup

Suryakumar yadav India vs New Zealand: After Sri Lanka, now the Indian team has to play a three-match ODI and three-match T20 series against New Zealand at home. The first ODI of the series will be played in Hyderabad today (January 18). In this series, Indian star middle order batsman Suryakumar Yadav has a great opportunity to show his skills.

Suryakumar, the number-1 batsman in the T20 rankings, has so far got a chance in 17 ODIs, in which he has not been able to show anything special. In these matches, Surya has scored only 388 runs at an average of 29.84. But seeing the excellent performance in T20, he has been given a chance again in ODIs.

Surya can get a chance in all three ODIs

Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul have been ruled out of the three-match ODI series against New Zealand. Shreyas has hurt his back, while Rahul has taken leave for the wedding. In such a situation, Suryakumar is expected to get a chance in all the three matches of the series. In such a situation, if Suryakumar shows his strong performance, then he can get a place in the ODI World Cup to be hosted by India this year.

Suryakumar’s cricket career

17 ODIs – 388 Runs – 2 Fifty
45 T20 Internationals – 1578 runs – 3 centuries

Very poor performance in last 6 ODIs

Please tell that Suryakumar has touched the double figure only once in the last 6 ODIs. In that match too, he scored only 38 not out. Suryakumar has scored only 65 runs in the last 6 ODIs. If this poor performance continues in the series against New Zealand, then his ODI career may be in danger. But if he played some charismatic innings and showed T20 form in ODIs as well, then the way to the World Cup could be cleared.

Possible playing-11 of both the teams for the first ODI

Indian team: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishaan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand team: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c/wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here