Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Sri Lanka scored 51 runs without a wicket in the first power play

In their third World Cup match against Australia, Sri Lanka scored 51 runs without losing a wicket in the first power play.

Pathum Nissanka and Kushal Perera, who came in as the openers for Sri Lanka today, played well from the start. Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell could not break this opening pair. As a result, the Lankans picked up 51 runs without losing any wicket in the first power play.

In the current World Cup, no team has won despite playing two matches each. So in today’s match, both teams are desperate to get their first win in the World Cup.

Sri Lanka-Australia have met 102 times in ODI so far. Among them, Australia’s margin of victory is heavy. Ajira has 63 wins. Sri Lanka has 35 wins. 4 matches were abandoned.

Australia is ahead in the direction of victory on the stage of the World Cup. In 11 matches, Australia won 8 times, Sri Lanka won only 2 and lost 1 match. After 1996, Sri Lanka could not beat Australia in the seven World Cup matches. Australia won the last World Cup in 2019 by 87 runs.

Sri Lanka XI: Pathum Nissanka, Kushal Perera, Kushal Mendis (captain), Sadira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Velalage, Mahish Thikshana, Dilshan Madushanka and Lahiru Kumara.

Australia XI: Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Jos Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (captain), Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.

October 16/NBW


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article