Saturday, April 1, 2023

South Zone won the sixth title with Khaled’s great bowling

In the final of the Bangladesh Cricket League, South Zone won the sixth title after defeating Central Zone by an innings and 33 runs thanks to Khaled Ahmed’s fifer. At the beginning of the match, South Zone went down to bat and picked up 50 runs. In response, Central Zone scored 237 and 237 runs in two innings respectively.

Central zone opener Sadman Islam scored a double century at the beginning of the match. Marshall Ayub also got a century. That’s why the current champions are seen with equal runs.

In response, Nazmul Islam Apu and Suman Khan could not take advantage of the bowling in the central zone. All out was 230 runs. That’s why the runner-up team fell in the follow-on.

The central zone was under pressure in the beginning after losing three wickets for 5 runs in their second innings. Mohammad Mithun and Zaker Ali tried to lead the team. But in the end they could not stop the loss of the innings. Mithun scored 49 runs and Zaker scored 23 runs.

In the end, Sharifullah and Abu Haider Roni’s fifties narrowed the deficit. Sharifullah scored 63 runs off 114 balls. And Ronnie scored 77 runs off 127 balls. Besides, Mosaddek scored 0 runs, Ariful 9 and Hasan Murad 6 runs. And Mushfiq Hasan remains unbeaten on zero runs.

Right-arm pacer Khaled Ahmed took maximum five wickets for South Zone. Besides, Nazmul Islam Apu took three wickets and Moin Khan took two wickets.

(07 March/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article