Monday, December 11, 2023

South Africa lost the wicket in the first over

So far, having played in the semi-finals four times in 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015, South Africa, who have tasted defeat each time, won the toss against Australia in their fifth semi-final and lost their wicket in the first over.

South African captain Temba Bavuma failed to bat after winning the toss. He scored 35 runs in 7 matches in the group stage. After the group stage, he failed in the semi-finals today. Mitchell Starc’s 4 to 0 against Ajid went back to Sajghar. The Proteas lost their first wicket by 1 run on his departure.

South Africa have faced Australia 109 times so far. Out of which South Africa has won 55 matches, while Australia has won 50 matches. Three matches have been tied. Another match did not yield any results.

However, these two teams have met 7 times in the World Cup. Where both teams have won three matches each and one match has been tied. The semi-final match in 1999 World Cup was tied between these two teams. Being ahead in the points table, Australia booked the ticket to the final despite the tie.

The spinners have more advantage on the Eden Gardens wicket. So on this day South Africa is coming with two pacers Kagiso Rabada and Coetzee along with two spinners Keshav Maharaj and Tabreiz Shamsi. Lungi Ngidi has been dropped from the team. All-rounder Marco Jansen is the third pacer. Glenn Maxwell has returned to the Australian team. Marcus Stoinis dropped to make way for him.

South Africa XI: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Rassie von der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Janssen, Keshav Maharaj, Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Tabreiz Shamsi.

Australia XI: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh English (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

(November 16/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article