Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Shariful Islam broke the opening pair of Lankans

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field in their eighth match in the current World Cup. The Lankans lost the first wicket after losing the toss and batting for just 5 runs. Shariful Islam broke the opening pair by returning Kushal Perera.

The match started at 2:30 PM at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Having lost to India by a huge margin of 302 runs, the Lankans went into bat against Bangladesh today and lost their wicket in the first over. Shariful Islam returned Kushal Perera in his first over.

Kushal Shariful, who scored 4 runs in 5 balls, handed the catch to Mushfiq and went back to Sajghar. On his departure, the opening pair of Lankans broke for 5 runs.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have met three times in the World Cup so far. The Lankans are ahead in the face-to-face fight. The Tigers have not beaten them even once in the World Cup so far. In the last 2015 World Cup, Bangladesh was crushed by the Lankans. In the 2019 World Cup, the match between the two teams was washed away by rain.

So far, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have faced each other 53 times in ODIs. In terms of head-to-head wins, Sri Lanka is quite ahead. The island nation has won 42 matches so far. And the results for Bangladesh came in 9 matches.

There is a change in Bangladesh XI in today’s match. Mostafizur Rahman is not fully fit. Instead of this left-handed pacer, Tanjim Hasan Shakib has come to the eleven. This is his debut match in the World Cup.

On the other hand, two changes have been made in the Lankan XI. Kushal Perera and Dhananjaya De Silva will play in place of Dimuth Karunaratne and Dushan Hemant.

Bangladesh XI: Liton Das, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Tawheed Hriday, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taskin Ahmed, Tanjim Shakib and Shariful Islam.

Sri Lanka XI: Pathum Nishanka, Kushal Perera, Kushal Mendis (wicketkeeper/captain), Sadira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Mahesh Thiksana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmanth Chamira, Dilshan Madushanka.

(06 November/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article