Thursday, March 23, 2023

Roland Garros 2023: the ticket office is open, dates and prices

Roland Garros opened to the general public on Wednesday March 15 with the ticket office accessible to all. Visitors and spectators can now buy tickets on the official site of Roland Garros. They will have to choose the remaining ones because the presidents of the tennis clubs and the licensees have already taken tickets for this edition of Roland Garros. The limit is set at 8 tickets maximum for the 3 main courtswithin the limit of 4 places per session, including a maximum of 4 tickets for the following 4 days (Saturday June 3, Sunday June 4, Friday June 9 and Sunday June 11) and a maximum of 12 tickets for the annexes the first week, within the limit of 4 per day.

Price details:

  • On the Philippe-Chatrier court prices vary from €40 to €320 for this Roland-Garros 2023.
  • On the Suzanne-Lenglen, prices vary from 50 euros to 155€ (excluding dressing rooms)
  • On the Simonne-Mathieu court, prices vary from €60 to €110 (this year, the upper stands are accessible)
  • The price of a ticket for the additional courts costs this year 39 euros for the first week of the tournament (May 28 to June 3).
  • To obtain the cheapest ticket on one of the 3 main courts, you will have to pay a minimum of €40 for a match of the “Night Session” in category 3 on Monday May 29 or Tuesday May 30 on the Philippe Chatrier.
  • The most expensive ticket (excluding boxes and services) for the fortnight will cost €320 and will allow you to attend the Men’s final scheduled for Sunday June 11, 2023 in the Gold Category.
  • A “pass” offer offering the day + the evening is also available. For 70€ you can do the whole Chatrier session on Tuesday May 30th.

In sporting terms, Rafael Nadal will he again be crowned and obtain his 23rd Grand Slam title, putting him back alone at the top of the rankings ahead of a certain Novak Djokovic. Uncertainty reigns around the state of health of the Mallorcan who could bet everything on his clay court season. On the other side, the Serb hopes to chain a second Grand Slam title this year after his rather resounding triumph in Australia. Beyond the two “Goats”, the new generation led by Carlos Alcaraz or even Stefanos Tsitsipas is also there to shake up the hierarchy.

Among the women, at the time of writing these few lines, it is difficult to know who will be able to dislodge the Polish Iga Swiatek. The player impresses with her level of play and her consistency even if the latter could not win the Australian Open at the start of the year. This Roland Garros will also be an opportunity to see Caroline Garcia, in the top of the world, the Frenchwoman will undoubtedly be a contender for the title in Paris.

What program for Roland-Garros?

At Roland Garros, the official program for each day, available on the official website, can sometimes be turned upside down. Indeed, if the schedule for the start of the day is quite clear, it is very difficult to count on the exact time of the end of the matches. The main constraints for the organisers: the weather and the time of sunset. In fact, only the Philippe-Chatrier court has a retractable roof and can host matches at night. The other courts do not have lighting.

When does Roland-Garros take place in 2023?

Roland-Garros 2023 begins with the main draw matches on Sunday, May 28, 2023. The date of the men’s final, which traditionally closes the fortnight, is set for Sunday, June 11, 2023.

How is the ticket office organized for Roland-Garros?

The Roland Garros ticketing system (see the official website) is the same as previous editions. The objective of the organizers is to fill the courts “to full capacity”. For this, access to the stands has been reworked with the sale of 1,500 “annex-up” tickets which will allow ticket holders to attend matches on the annex courts but also to fill the boxes of the central court Philippe Chatrier , in case of low attendance. Often empty, the presidential stand will experience change in this 2022 edition. The organizers will give club volunteers the opportunity to attend the matches from this stand, by inviting them regularly.

What gains for Roland-Garros in 2022?

The global allocation for Roland-Garros is known. In 2022, this will amount to 43.6 million euros, i.e. 7% more than in 2019. 2.2 million euros are promised to the winners of the singles tables. The organizers had promised to make an effort in the allocations for the qualified and eliminated from the first round. Something done for players who have not passed the qualifications with a 66% increase in the allocation allocated to the qualifications compared to 2019 and 30% compared to 2021.

In a press release, the French Tennis Federation indicates that “The increase in the allocation for the 1st round of the singles draw and qualifications makes it possible to support the populations of players who have suffered the most from the health crisis in recent years.”

What TV broadcast for Roland-Garros?

Roland Garros has been broadcast for many years by public service channels and Eurosport, but there have been changes since last year. Exit Eurosport: the broadcasting rights of the competition are now shared between FranceTV and Amazon Prime (subscribe to Amazon Prime Video), the video on demand service, which offers evening matches and those played on the Simonne-Mathieu court. The semi-finals and finals are co-broadcast.

What is the record of Roland-Garros?

Here is the list of winners of the French Open at Roland-Garros since the Open era

  • 1968: Ken Rosewall
  • 1969: Rod Laver
  • 1970: Jan Kodes
  • 1971: Jan Kodes
  • 1972: Andres Gimeno
  • 1973: Ilies Nastase
  • 1974: Bjorn Borg
  • 1975: Bjorn Borg
  • 1976: Adriano Panatta
  • 1977: Guillermo Villas
  • 1978: Bjorn Borg
  • 1979: Bjorn Borg
  • 1980: Bjorn Borg
  • 1981: Bjorn Borg
  • 1982: Mats Wilander
  • 1983: Yannick Noah
  • 1984: Ivan Lendl
  • 1985: Mats Wilander
  • 1986: Ivan Lendl
  • 1987: Ivan Lendl
  • 1988: Mats Wilander
  • 1989: Michael Chang
  • 1990: Andres Gomez
  • 1991: Jim Courier
  • 1992: Jim Courier
  • 1993: Sergi Bruguera
  • 1994: Sergi Bruguera
  • 1995: Thomas Muster
  • 1996: Yevgeny Kafelnikov
  • 1997: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 1998: Carlos Moya
  • 1999: Andre Agassi
  • 2000: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 2001: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 2002: Albert Costa
  • 2003: Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • 2004: Gaston Gaudio
  • 2005: Rafael Nadal
  • 2006: Rafael Nadal
  • 2007: Rafael Nadal
  • 2008: Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Roger Federer
  • 2010: Rafael Nadal
  • 2011: Rafael Nadal
  • 2012: Rafael Nadal
  • 2013: Rafael Nadal
  • 2014: Rafael Nadal
  • 2015: Stan Wawrinka
  • 2016: Novak Djokovic
  • 2017: Rafael Nadal
  • 2018: Rafael Nadal
  • 2019: Rafael Nadal
  • 2020: Rafael Nadal
  • 2021: Novak Djokovic
  • 2022: Rafael Nadal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article