Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Proteas on course for big collection of double half-centuries

In their seventh match in the current World Cup, South Africa lost the toss and went into batting. Despite losing the first wicket by 38 runs, Quinton de Kock and Rassie von der Dussen’s pair of half-centuries are moving towards a big collection of half-centuries.

Today, the two Protea openers Quinton de Kock and Temba Bavuma started playing after holding the wicket. He took only 15 runs in 5 overs.

After that, the two openers started coming out of the shell. And that’s when Trent Boult hit the Protea camp.

He brought back captain Temba Bavuma who scored 24 runs off 28 balls. Trent Boult was caught by Darrell Mitchell and returned to the dressing room. South Africans broke the opening pair for 38 runs on his departure.

After losing the first wicket for 38 runs, Quinton de Kock and Rassie von der Dussen formed a partnership. This batter has already picked up a pair of half-centuries.

Opener Quinton de Kock scored a 62-ball half-century against the Kiwis today. Which includes 3 fours and 2 sixes. On the other hand, Rassie Von der Dusen, who came down to play at number three, brought up a personal half-century off 61 balls. The Proteas have already crossed 150 team runs based on this pair.

Both the teams made one change in the team today. Tim Southee returned to the New Zealand team. He replaced Lockie Ferguson. On the other hand, Kagiso Rabada has replaced Tabreiz Shamsi in the South African team.

So far New Zealand-South Africa have faced each other in 71 ODI matches. Of these, New Zealand won 25, South Africa won 41 and 5 matches were abandoned. New Zealand lead in World Cup wins. Out of eight encounters, New Zealand won six, while South Africa won two. New Zealand won the last World Cup by 4 wickets in 2019.

New Zealand XI: Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Darrell Mitchell, Tom Latham (captain), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

South Africa XI: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rasi von der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Janssen, Gerlad Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi.

(November 01/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article