Friday, December 8, 2023

Poor batting against Pakistan too, Tigers all out for 204 runs

Batting failure is not leaving Bangladesh behind. Bangladesh were bowled out for just 204 runs in their seventh match against Pakistan in the current World Cup. Today, these six cricketers of Bangladesh team, Tanjid Tamim, Shanto, Mushfiq, Tawheed Hriday, Taskin Ahmed and Mostafiz, could not reach double figures.

Bangladesh’s opening pair failed today like other matches. Bangladesh lost their first wicket against Pakistan today by zero runs. Earlier, Bangladesh lost their first wicket against New Zealand for zero runs in their third match. After losing the first wicket for zero runs, Bangladesh lost 3 wickets for 23 runs. After that Liton Das and Mahmudullah Riyad formed a pair to save the team from disaster. Bangladesh tried to turn around by relying on 79 runs of this pair. Liton went back to 45 runs but Mahmudullah picked up his half century. After the departure of the pair, Shakib and Miraj tried to take control of the team but failed. Shakib returned for 43 runs and Miraz for 23 runs. In the end, Bangladesh scored 204 runs after losing all wickets in 45 overs. Liton Das and Tanjid Hasan Tamim opened for Bangladesh today. The two openers could not open the account of runs in the first over of the match.

Shaheen Afridi hit the Bangladesh camp before opening the run book. Tanjid has sent back Hasan Tamim after LBW. When the umpire responded to Afridi’s LBW appeal, Tamim took a review. But it was of no use. Shaheen Afridi completes 100 wickets in ODI by returning Tamim.

After Tamim, Shanto also went back. He was also returned by Shaheen Afidri. Shanta Shahin Afridi, who scored 4 runs in 3 balls, was caught by Usama Mir and went back to the dugout. On his departure, Bangladesh lost 2 wickets for 6 runs.

Mushfiq also returned after Shant, leaving the team in danger. In the face of criticism, Mushfiqur was played at number 4 today, but he was unsuccessful. He returned with 5 runs off 8 balls.

After losing 3 wickets for the team’s 23 runs, Liton and Mahmudullah pulled the team out of disaster by forming a pair. Mahmudullah Riyad was played at number five in today’s match after much criticism. At number five, he formed a pair with Liton and took the lead of the team.

Bangladesh was turning around with this pair. But this pair was broken by Liton’s departure for the team’s 102 runs. 79 runs come from this pair.

Lyton, who was on the brink of a half-century, scored 45 runs off 64 balls and returned to Sajghar after being caught by Agha Salman at mid-wicket off Iftikhar Ahmed. He missed his half century by just 5 runs.

Mahmudullah Riyad brought up his half-century against Pakistan despite Litton’s return. Today he scored 58 runs off 58 balls. Despite picking up a half-century, he could not take his innings far. After scoring 56 runs off 70 balls, Shaheen Afridi was bowled and returned to Sajghar.

Tawheed Hriday, who got a chance in the team after two matches, went back on the path of Mahmudullah. But even today the heart fails. He scored only 7 runs in 3 balls. Iftikhar Ahmed took the catch at fast slip off Usama Mir and went back to Sajghar. On his departure, Bangladesh lost 6 wickets for 140 runs.

After losing 6 wickets for 140 runs, captain Shakib Al Hasan formed a partnership with Miraj. Shakib’s bat was smiling without getting a run throughout the World Cup. He was getting runs after the drought. He was slowly moving towards half a century.

But Shakib’s forehead is bad. He fell short of his half century for just 7 runs. Shakib Haris, who scored 43 runs off 64 balls, was caught at mid-wicket and went back to Sajghar.

After Shakib, Mehdi Hasan tried to take control of the Miraj team but he also returned to the dressing room after scoring 25 runs off 30 balls. In the end, Bangladesh scored 204 runs after losing all wickets after playing 45 overs. Taskin Ahmed, Mustafiz could not reach double figures.

Bangladesh entered the field today with a change against Pakistan. Tawheed Hridoy returned to the team instead of Sheikh Mehdi. Meanwhile, there are three changes in the Pakistan team. Imam-ul-Haq, Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz are replaced by Fakhar, Usama Mir and Agha Salman.

Bangladesh XI: Liton Das, Tanjid Hasan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Mahmudullah, Tawheed Hriday, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taskin Ahmed, Mostafizur Rahman and Shariful Islam.

Pakistan XI: Abdullah Shafiq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim Jr and Haris Rauf.

(October 31/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article