Monday, December 11, 2023

Netherlands lost 6 wickets for 112 runs in a batting disaster

Batting against South Africa in their third match in the World Cup, the Netherlands lost 6 wickets for just 112 runs to the bowling balls of the Protea bowlers and fell into a batting disaster. Due to rain in Dharamshala, the toss was held late. Proteas captain Bavuma won the toss and decided to field first. But even after the toss, there is a delay in making the game on the field. Due to which the number of overs has decreased.

Vikramjit Singh and Max O’Dowd opened for the Netherlands today. However, this pair could not stay at the crease for long. The team was broken by only 22 runs.

Bikramjit Singh, who scored 2 runs off 16 balls, fell victim to Kagiso Rabada, and the opening pair of the Netherlands was broken for just 22 runs.

After the departure of Vikramjit Singh, another opener Max O’Dowd could not stay at the crease for long. He also returned to the dressing room after being victimized by Marco Jansen. He scored 18 runs off 25 balls before getting out. On his departure, the Dutch lost 2 wickets for 25 runs.

After the departure of these two openers, Colin Ackerman and Bass de Lidy formed the pair. The duo tries to save the team from disaster.

But this pair was broken by Bas de Liddy’s departure for 2 runs off 7 balls. He fell victim to LBW by Kagiso Rabada. On his departure, the Netherlands lost 3 wickets for 40 runs.

Colin Ackerman also returned to the dressing room with a team-high 50 runs after Bas de Liddy. He was the victim of Gerald Coetzee after scoring 12 runs off 25 balls.

Sybrand Engelbrecht paired with Teja Nidamanuru after the departure of Colin Ackerman. The Dutch tried to turn around by relying on this pair. But this pair was broken when Sybrand Engelbrecht returned to Sajghar after scoring 19 runs off 37 balls. This pair comes from

Scott Edwards and Teja Nidamanuru tried to pull the Netherlands standing on the edge of the abyss after losing 5 wickets for the team’s 82 runs. But this pair could not score too many runs. The pair was broken by Teja Nidamanuru’s dismissal for the team’s 112 runs. Teja Nidamanuru, who scored 20 off 25 balls, fell to Marco Jansen. On his departure, the Dutch lost 6 wickets for the team’s 112 runs.

In today’s match, both teams entered the field with one change each. Young pacer Gerald Coetzee has returned to the South African team in place of Shamsi. And Ryan Klein has been dropped from the Netherlands team. Logan van Beek has been brought in as his replacement.

In the current World Cup, the Proteas have won two matches in two matches so far, but the Dutch force has not seen a victory. This time their opponent is the strong Protea team. Where the Proteas have never lost against the Dutch in the ODI format, not only in World Cup history. South Africa has won 6 of the 7 times so far. The rest of the match was abandoned. South Africa have won all the last 5 ODI matches. On the other hand, Netherlands have only 2 wins against 3 losses. As a result, Temba Bavuma’s team is far ahead in terms of statistics. But it is not possible to judge everything in statistics. Before coming to the main stage of the World Cup, the Dutch have left countries like West Indies and Ireland behind. As such, the party can cause any incident.

South Africa XI: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dusen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Janssen, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi.

Netherlands XI: Vikramjit Singh, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackerman, Bass de Lied, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (wicketkeeper/captain), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren.

(October 17/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article