Thursday, March 23, 2023

Markram is the new captain of South Africa T20 team

Host South Africa will play a three-match T20I series against the visiting West Indies at home. Apart from the announcement of the new captain, the cricket board of the country has also announced the team ahead of the upcoming series. Aiden Markram is the new captain of South Africa T20 cricket.

Proteas top-order batsman Temba Bavuma stepped down from the T20 captaincy last month. Since then, the South African Cricket Board was looking for a new captain. Finally the name of the new captain of the Proteas is known.

South Africa won the Under-19 ODI World Cup in 2014 under Markram’s leadership. In the recently concluded South Africa’s new domestic tournament, Makram led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to the SA T20 League title. That is why the selectors have confidence in him.

Note that after the ODI series, South Africa and West Indies will face each other in the T20 series from March 25.

South Africa T20 team against West Indies:

Aiden Markram (captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Enrich Nortey, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Riley Rousseau, Tabriz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

(07 March/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article