Monday, December 11, 2023

India won the toss and fielded

India-New Zealand, who have won four matches in a row in the World Cup, will face each other today. India won the toss and decided to field against New Zealand today.

After playing four matches in the World Cup, none of the two teams have tasted defeat so far. But today either of these two teams will have to taste the defeat.

India’s dream was dashed by losing to New Zealand by 18 runs in the semi-final of the 2019 ODI World Cup. Although they met many times in ODIs after that, India could not forget the defeat to New Zealand in the semis of the World Cup. This time, India has a golden opportunity to erase that wound on the World Cup stage. So far New Zealand has played 9 matches against India in the World Cup. In the meantime, Kiwis are ahead. New Zealand won by 5. India won by 3. 1 match abandoned.

India have won 58 of the 116 matches they have faced against New Zealand in ODIs. New Zealand has won in 50 matches. Remaining 1 match was tied and 7 were abandoned. India and New Zealand last met in an ODI in January this year. India whitewashed New Zealand in the three-match series at home.

India enters the field with two changes in the XI. Suryakumar Yadav got a chance to replace Hardik Pandya who was injured in the Bangladesh match. In addition, experienced pacer Mohammad Shami got a place in the World Cup XI for the first time in place of pace bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur. On the other hand, India will face current runners-up New Zealand with an unchanged XI.

India XI: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj.

New Zealand XI: Devon Conway, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (captain), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Mark Chapman.

(22 October/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article