Monday, December 4, 2023

India-Sri Lanka face off on Sunday in the title fight

Before the upcoming ODI World Cup, India and Sri Lanka will meet in the final of the Asia Cup tomorrow. Both teams are desperate to be crowned Asia’s best to gain confidence in the World Cup starting next month. They will fight for the title at 3:30 pm Bangladesh time in Colombo. The match will be telecast live on T-Sports.

So far India-Sri Lanka have won the title 13 times in this continental tournament. Sri Lanka has a rich history of playing Asia Cup finals while the clash between the two arch-rivals India-Pakistan is at the center of attention for fans across the world. The big thing is that India-Pakistan have never met in the Asia Cup final.

Sri Lanka, who won the title of the last Asia Cup held in the T20 format, started the tournament basically as underdogs and confirmed the Super Four with a dramatic victory over Afghanistan. Despite being defeated by India, Sri Lanka secured their 11th final appearance in the Asia Cup by using their home advantage to defeat Super Four Pakistan.

Sri Lanka have lost to India in the Super Four stage twice before in the Asia Cup only in the 2004 and 2008 finals.

Team India:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav And famous Krishna.

Sri Lanka Team:

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nishaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kushal Pereira, Kushal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalaka, Sadra Samarabikrama, Dunith Wellag, Mahesh Thikshana, Mathisha Parana, Kasun Raja, Mathisha, and Paradhan.

(September 16/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article