Friday, September 22, 2023

India is the champion for the eighth time after winning by 10 wickets

India did not care about Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup final. Rohit and Virat won the title for the eighth time after defeating the Lankans by a big margin of 10 wickets. At the start of the match, Sri Lanka stopped for just 50 runs on Siraj’s bowling. In reply, India reached the port of victory without losing any wicket in 6.1 overs.

Two Indian openers Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan did not take any pressure to chase runs. They secured the victory by scoring 51 runs in just 37 balls. Ishan scored 27 runs off 19 balls. And Shubman Gill scored 23 runs off 18 balls.

Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and decided to bat at the start of the match at the Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Colombo. Then the start of the match was delayed when it started raining. When the rain stops, the game starts.

Jasprit Bumrah cut behind the Lankan opener Kushal Perera when he came to bowl in the first over of the innings. Then in the fourth over of the innings, Indian pacer Mohammad Siraj collapsed in the Lankan batting line. He took four batters in one over. Nishanka returned with 2 runs. And Samaravikrama, Ashalanka and Dhananjaya could not open the account of runs.

Sri Lanka could not turn around after that. Pandya strikes after Siraj’s bowling cannon. That’s why the hosts are confused. Opener Kushal Mendis played the highest innings of 17 runs for the team. Dushmanth Hemant remained unbeaten on 13 runs off 15 balls. None of the rest could touch the two-digit house.

Mohammad Siraj took maximum 6 wickets for India at the cost of 21 runs including a maiden in 7 overs. Hardik Pandya took three wickets. Jasprit Bumrah gets another wicket.

(September 17/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article