Wednesday, December 6, 2023

India is in trouble after losing 3 wickets for 81 runs in the World Cup final

After losing the toss against Australia in the final match of the 13th edition of the ICC ODI World Cup, India lost 3 wickets for 81 runs despite a flying start in batting.

Rohit Sharma went on a rampage against the Auji bowlers at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. He was accompanied by Shubman Gill who scored 80 runs in the previous match. India picked up 30 runs in 4 overs based on this pair. But after that, there is a downfall. Shubman Gill completely failed in the final today.

Gill scored 4 runs off 7 balls today, caught by Adam Jumper at mid-on off Michek Starc and returned home. On his departure, India broke the opening pair by 30 runs.

Gill returned but Virat Kohli and Rohit Oji, who scored centuries in the semi-final, continued to wreak havoc on the bowlers. Finally Glenn Maxwell broke this pair.

Rohit, who scored 47 runs from 31 balls, went back to the dressing room after giving a catch to Travis Head off Glenn Maxwell. Shreyas Iyer, who scored a century in the semi-finals, also went back on his way. He returned with just 4 runs off 3 balls, falling victim to Pat Cummins. On his departure, India lost 3 wickets for 81 runs.

The two teams have faced each other 150 times in ODIs. In that India won 57 against Ajid’s 83 wins. There was no result in the remaining 10 matches.

Again, out of these 57 wins, India won 33 matches at home. Rohit Sharma’s team has 14 wins at the opponent’s ground and 10 at neutral venues. On the other hand, Australia won 38 matches at home. India has won 12 matches at neutral venues against 33 matches won on Indian soil.

Australia is still ahead in the World Cup. In total, the two teams have faced each other in 13 matches in the fifty-over World Cup. India won 5 as against Australia’s 8 wins

India XI

Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav.

Australia XI

David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh English, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa.

(19 November/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article