Friday, December 8, 2023

ICC World Cup XI Revealed

The 13th season of the ICC ODI World Cup has come down after a month and a half of busy bat-ball battle. Where in the final, Australia defeated the host India by six wickets and took home the sixth title.

Despite performing well from the beginning of the World Cup, India was not taken care of by Australia in the final. However, the Indian batsmen and bowlers have given great cricket throughout the tournament. On the other hand, Ajira won the World Cup title after winning 9 consecutive matches despite starting the tournament with a loss. So it goes without saying that the best XI of the World Cup will have the majority of players from the two finalist teams.

Even though India lost the final, the best XI selected by the ICC shows the singular dominance of Indians. All six Indians in the best XI. Only two champions are from Australia. Besides, one each from South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka got a place in the best eleven. South Africa’s Gerald Coetzee is the twelve man. The surprise was the absence of Rachin Ravindra in the announced team. Even Lokesh Rahul’s presence has been questioned.

Two destructive cricketers Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma are there as openers. These two are the second and third highest run scorers in the tournament. Rohit’s run at second is 597. And D Kock’s run at third is 594. Both will have the responsibility to bring a good start.

Virat Kohli is sure to be in the third place. He spent a tournament like a dream. Sachin broke the record. Owned the highest century in ODI cricket. Owned the new record of highest runs in a World Cup. His tally of 765 runs earned him the honor of the best of the tournament.

Darrell Mitchell, who scored 552 runs, has been kept in this eleven. However, there was no place for Rachin Ravindra, who spread light throughout the tournament. Lokesh Rahul was not given the responsibility of wicketkeeper in the XI. This 452 run batsman has done justice to his name in several matches. He is getting a place as a batter.

The responsibility of the lower middle order is in the hands of Glenn Maxwell and Ravindra Jadeja. These two will balance the spin bowling all-rounder and lower middle order. Maxwell will be in the finishing role. His innings of 201 runs against Afghanistan is the highest individual tally in this World Cup.

Along with Jasprit Bumrah and Dilshan Madushanka, the highest wicket taker of this World Cup, Mohammad Shami, will be bowling in pace. While Dilshan made room for his 21 wickets, Bumrah made room for impactful bowling. Adam Zampa is the only spinner in the squad. He has 23 wickets in 11 matches.

Twelveman: The current South Africa team lacked a fire bowler in Enrique Norqua’s absence. Tarun Coetzee filled that gap. In the whole tournament, Coetzee took 20 wickets in 8 matches. The 23-year-old bowler took this wicket at an average of 19.80 and an economy rate of 6.23.

(November 20/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article