Friday, December 2, 2022

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Big decision of ICC, changed the format of T20 World Cup, now so many teams will be included

Only a few days have passed since the end of the T20 World Cup 2022, but the International Cricket Council (ICC) has already started preparing for the next T20 World Cup. The ICC has made major changes in the format for the T20 World Cup to be held in the year 2024. The T20 World Cup of 2024 is to be played in the hosting of West Indies and United States of America (USA) and 20 teams are going to participate in it.

This will be the format of the next World Cup

The 20-team tournament will be played in three stages including total knockout. All teams 20 teams will be divided into total 5 groups of 4-4. The top 2 teams of each group will enter the Super-8. After this all the eight teams will be divided into 2 groups of 4-4. In the Super-8 stage, the top two teams from both the groups will enter the semi-finals. Two teams will make it to the final through two semi-final matches.

That is, the next T20 World Cup will be very different from the recent T20 World Cup and there will be no qualifying rounds and no Super-12 stage. A total of 16 teams participated in the recent T20 World Cup, in which 8 teams got direct entry for the Super-12 stage. At the same time, 4 four teams made it to the Super-12 through the qualifying round.

12 teams have confirmed their place

West Indies and the United States of America qualified directly for the upcoming T20 World Cup as hosts. At the same time, the top 8 teams of the Super-12 stage from the T20 World Cup have got direct entry for the upcoming season. These teams include New Zealand, England, Australia, Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Netherlands. Along with this, on the basis of ICC rankings (14 November), Afghanistan and Bangladesh have also got direct entry for this T20 World Cup.

8 slots still left

That is, 12 out of 20 teams have been decided and eight spots are left. The remaining 8 teams for the T20 World Cup 2024 will be decided on the basis of regional qualification. In this qualification, Africa, Asia and Europe have two qualification spots each, while America and East Asia Pacific have 1 slot each. Teams like Zimbabwe, Namibia, Scotland, Ireland will have a golden chance to make a place through regional qualification.

12 teams with direct qualification for T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies, America, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Bangladesh.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here