Thursday, November 30, 2023

Guyana has seen the elusive title

Guyana Amazon Warriors did not see the title despite playing the final in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for the maximum time. The team finally found the elusive title. Guyana won the title by defeating Trinbago Knight Riders by 9 wickets in the final of this season. Trinbago were bowled out for just 94 runs at the start. In reply, Guyana won with 36 balls and 9 wickets in hand.

Trinbago Knight Riders have achieved the honor of winning the maximum four times in the history of CPL. Jamaica Talawa has the second highest number of titles won three times. Besides, Barbados Tridents have won the championship twice and Saint Kitts and Guyana once each.

At the beginning of the match held in Providence, the Trinbago batters could not stand up to the bowling ball of Guyana pacer Dwayne Pretorius after losing the toss. Then Gudakesh Moti and Imran Tahir’s whirlwind led the team. KC Carty scored the highest 38 runs. Besides, Mark Deyal scored 16 runs and Chadwick Walton scored 10 runs. None of the rest could touch the two-digit house.

Guyana Amazon Warriors did not take any pressure to chase runs. However, the team lost opener Kimo Paul by 15 runs. Paul scored 11 runs. After that, opener Sayem Ayyub made an unbroken partnership of 84 runs with Cy Hope for the second wicket. Guyana’s victory was confirmed by that. Ayub remained unbeaten on 52 runs after completing his personal half-century. And Cy Hope remains unbeaten on 32 runs.

Meanwhile, Dwayne Pretorius, who took four wickets at the cost of just 26 runs, was selected as the man of the match.

(25 September/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article