Friday, December 8, 2023

DR provinces that will most impact tropical storm Franklin

The center of the tropical storm Franklin, which has already touched Dominican territory, is located over the southern provinces of Barahona and Pedernales, reported this Wednesday the National Meteorological Office (Onamet).

As its trajectory progresses, the meteorological authority explained, Franklin will pass through Azua, San Juan and Santiagohowever, it will leave through Puerto Plata and Monte Cristi.

Onamet predicts that the center of this atmospheric phenomenon will move away from Dominican Republic tonight. However, the rains will persist due to the cloudy fields that the storm will leave.

In this sense, he pointed out that in Barahona has recorded 190 millimeters of waterwhile in San Cristóbal 160 millimeters has been counted, meanwhile, Santo Domingo has received more than 150 millimeters.

Franklin, recalled Onamet, moves to a speed of 17 kilometers per hour and reaches maximum sustained winds of 85 kilometers per hour.

Provinces in red and yellow alerts

He Emergency Operations Center (COE) maintains 25 provinces on red alert and seven on yellow. Sánchez Ramírez is on red alert, along with Santo Domingo, the National District, San Cristóbal, Azua, Pedernales, Peravia, Barahona, San Juan, Independencia, Elías Piña, La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís, San José de Ocoa and Bahoruco .

In addition, El Seibo, Puerto Plata, Duarte, Hato Mayor, La Vega, Monte Plata, Samaná, La Altagracia, María Trinidad Sánchez and Monsignor Nouel.

On the other hand, Valverde, Dajabón, Monte Cristi, Hermanas Mirabal, Espaillat, Santiago Rodríguez and Santiago are still on yellow alert.

Where did storm Franklin enter Dominican soil?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article