Friday, December 8, 2023

Brussels agrees on the veto on Ukrainian grain with the five Member States most affected by imports

The European Comission has reached a political agreement with the five countries bordering Ukraine – Poland, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Slovakia – to veto the imports grain from this country, although they will be able to receive it for export to the rest of the European Union.

This is the main measure of the package that the Economic Vice President, Valdis Dombrovskis, and the Agriculture Commissioner, Janusz Wojciechowski, have agreed with the leaders from Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, Slovakia and Ukraine this Friday, as reported by Dombrovskis himself on social networks.

Also through her Twitter profile, the president of the Commission, Ursula von der Leyenhas welcomed the agreement and has stressed that “it preserves both Ukraine’s export capacity, so that it continues to feed the world, and the livelihoods” of EU farmers.

It is a extent exceptional safeguard measures affecting wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seeds and which is subject to Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria and Slovakia eliminating the vetoes national governments that imposed these and other agricultural products from Ukraine unilaterally and prior to the proposed Brussels.

The agreement also includes a second tranche of €100 million of financial aid to these front-line countries, an item in addition to the €56.3 million financed by the agricultural reserve for Bulgarian, Polish and Romanian farmers.

Also, the Executive Community has undertaken to assess whether the list of products covered by this emergency measure can include others such as sunflower oil.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article