Sunday, May 28, 2023

Bashundhara Kings history by winning fourth consecutive title

The only match of the day in Bangladesh Premier League football was full of tension. In this 10-goal match, Bashundhara Kings became the first team to win the league title for the fourth consecutive time by defeating Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra by 6-4. No club could achieve this feat in the post-independence era.

As a result of this victory, Bashundhara Kings collected the maximum 46 points in 17 matches. Now there are three matches left. Despite losing all their last matches, second-placed Abahani Limited will not be able to overtake them. Abahani is at number two with 34 points in the equal match. And the collection of Mohammedan in third place is 23 points.

Abahani won three consecutive times from 1983-85. From 1986 to 88-89, Mohammedan won three leagues in a row. Abahani is the first three-time champion since the launch of the professional league in 2007. However, no team could win four leagues in a row. This is the first time Kings have achieved that feat.

Both teams started playing attacking football from the beginning of the match held at Bashundhara Sports Complex. Due to that, Bashundhara went ahead with Dorielton’s goal in the sixth minute of the match. But Sheikh Russell took the lead by scoring in the 26th and 38th minutes. However, in the added time of the first half, Bashundhara went ahead 3-2 when Robinho and Sheikh Morsalin scored one each.

The reigning champions got another goal in the fourth minute of the second half. Another goal came in the 65th minute. Dorielton scored both goals. He completed the hat trick. Kenath reduced the gap in the 69th minute. But in the 76th minute, Dorielton scored his fourth goal and the team’s sixth to almost secure the win. Sheikh Russell scored a goal at the last moment.

(26 May/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article