Saturday, January 28, 2023

Bangladesh’s Mirage in ICC’s XI of the Year

A few days ago, Bangladeshi all-rounder Mehdi Hasan Miraj made it to Wisden’s XI of the Year. This time, this Tiger cricketer got a place in the best eleven of the year released by the highest governing body of cricket.

Mehdi Hasan Miraj was excellent in bat and ball last year. He took 24 wickets in 15 ODI matches. Best performance was 4 wickets for 29 runs. He collected 330 runs at an average of 66 with the bat.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam is leading the XI announced by ICC. He is the only Pakistani cricketer who got a place in this eleven. India, New Zealand, West Indies and Australia got two places each. Besides, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and Pakistan have one each.

Pakistan’s Babar Azam and West Indies’ Sai Hope are opening. Auggie batter Travis Head will come down to bat in one down. Indian right-handed batsman Shreyas Iyer is in for two downs. Kiwi wicket keeper batsman Tom Latham will bat for the fourth wicket. Then there are two all-rounders Sikandar Raja and Mehdi Miraj.

Meanwhile, there are three pacers in the bowling department, India’s Mohammad Siraj, New Zealand’s Trent Boult and West Indies’ Alzari Sosef. And Australian leg-spinner Adam Zampa is also in the XI of the year.

ODI Team of the Year:

Babar Azam (captain), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Sikandar Raja, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Alzari Joseph, Mohammad Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa.

(24 January/MM)

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here