Saturday, December 2, 2023

Australia-South Africa match canceled due to rain

The second semi-final match between Australia and South Africa has been suspended due to rain. After winning the toss in the semi-final, South Africa faced a batting disaster against Ajid. They scored only 44 runs after losing 4 wickets in 14 overs. Then it rained. Due to which the game is closed for now.

South African captain Temba Bavuma failed to bat after winning the toss. He scored 35 runs in 7 matches in the group stage. He also failed in the semifinals of the group stage today. Mitchell Starc’s 4 to 0 against Ajid went back to Sajghar. On his departure, the Proteas lost their first wicket by 1 run.

After Temba Bavuma, it was Quinton de Kock who scored the highest century in the group stage. Just 3 runs off 14 balls Josh Hazlewood was caught by Pat Cummins at mid-on and returned to the dugout.

Rasi von der Dussen and Aiden Markram formed a partnership after two wickets for 8 runs. But they also failed to take their pair far. Aiden Markram went back to become the second victim of Mitchell Starc for the team’s 22 runs. This pair was broken by 14 runs on his departure.

Rasi von der Dussen also returned in the over after Aiden Markram’s dismissal. He went back to being a victim of Josh Hazlewood. After his departure, the Proteas lost 4 wickets for just 24 runs.

After 4 wickets for 24 runs, David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen formed a partnership. South Africa scored 44 runs in 14 overs based on this pair. Then it rained. The game is currently suspended due to rain.

The spinners have more advantage on the Eden Gardens wicket. So on this day South Africa came with two pacers Kagiso Rabada and Coetzee along with two spinners Keshav Maharaj and Tabreiz Shamsi. Lungi Ngidi has been dropped from the team. All-rounder Marco Jansen is the third pacer. Glenn Maxwell has returned to the Australian team. Marcus Stoinis dropped to make way for him.

South Africa XI: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Rassie von der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Janssen, Keshav Maharaj, Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Tabreiz Shamsi.

Australia XI: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh English (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

(November 16/NBW)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article