Monday, December 11, 2023

Antoine Dupont best player in the world? The nominees

Eliminated in the quarter-finals of its World Cup, the French XV will have three representatives for the 2023 World Rugby Awards ceremony. Winner in 2021, the scrum half and captain of the Blues Antoine Dupont is once again nominated, he who had was beaten in 2022 by Irishman Josh Van der Flier. Another Irishman will also be on his way in the person of Bundee Aki, the very impressive center of Ireland. But eyes should be on the two other players named who play in the World Cup final this Saturday with Eben Etzebeth for South Africa and the Blacks number 8, Ardie Savea.

In the other categories, Fabien Galthié is not nominated for the title of best coach. On the other hand, two other French people will perhaps be honored with Damian Penaud, nominated for the best try of the year against Ireland and especially Louis Bielle Biarrey, tipped to be elected revelation of the year.

The nominees for the best player of the year trophy

  • Bundee Aki (Ireland)
  • Antoine Dupont (France)
  • Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)
  • Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

The nominees for the best coach of the year trophy

  • Andy Farrell (Ireland)
  • Ian Foster (New Zealand)
  • Simon Raiwalui (Fiji)
  • Jacques Nienaber (South Africa)

The nominees for the male revelation of the year trophy

  • Louis Bielle-Biarrey (France)
  • Manie Libbok (South Africa)
  • Mark Telea (New Zealand)
  • Tamaiti Williams (New Zealand)

The nominees for the trophy for the best male attempt of the year

  • Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland v England, February 4)
  • Damian Penaud (France v Ireland, February 11)
  • Hugo Keenan (Ireland v France, February 11)
  • Vinaya Habosi (Fiji v Georgia, October 1)

The nominees for the best 7s player of the year trophy

  • Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
  • Maddison Levi (Australia)
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
  • Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

The nominees for the best 7s player of the year trophy

  • Leroy Carter (New Zealand)
  • Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)
  • Marcos Moneta (Argentina)
  • Akuila Rokolisoa (New Zealand)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article