Friday, December 8, 2023

After 14 years, the title of the Federation Cup belongs to Mohammedan

Mohammedan Sporting Club repeated the history of 14 years ago. Defeated the same opponent in the final of the same tournament in exactly the same manner. Mohammedan became champions after more than a century after defeating Abahani Limited in a tiebreaker 4-3 in the final of the Federation Cup.

It is as if that old jealousy has returned to Bangladesh football. The final between Abahani and Mohammedan proved it. The thrilling seven-goal match was scoreless in the allotted 90 minutes. In extra time, both teams scored one goal each. In the end, the final match was a tiebreaker.

Dhaka Abahani dominated the attack early in the match held at the Shahid Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Comilla. Abahani took the lead in the 15th minute of the match through Faisal Ahmed Fahim’s goal. And in the 43rd minute of the game, Daniel Colindres of Costa Rica doubled the gap to the Dhanmondi club. The first half ended with a 2-0 goal difference.

Mohammedan Sporting Club regained their rhythm in the second half. One attack after another, Mohammedan Mali’s captain Suleiman Diabat narrowed the gap. Four minutes later, Suleman equalized with another great goal.

However, just five minutes after Mohammedan’s second goal, Abahani took the lead again with the goal of Nigerian star footballer Emeka. The difference is 3-2. Soleman then scored in the 83rd minute to complete his hat-trick in dramatic fashion.

If there is no result in the scheduled time, the match will be played in an additional 30 minutes. Suleman entered the Abahani box with the ball alone in added time of the first half of extra time. Mohamedan gets a penalty when the opponent’s goalkeeper blocks him illegally. Sumelan gave the team the lead with his fourth goal with a successful shot from the spot kick. And three minutes before the end of the match, Rahmat Shah’s great shot made the gap 4-4.

(30 May/mm


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article