Friday, December 8, 2023

Abahani won the title by defeating Sheikh Jamal

In the Dhaka Premier League, Abahani Limited regained the title by defeating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 4 wickets in the last over. Sheikh Jamal went to bat at the start of this undeclared final and scored 282 runs for 7 wickets in 50 overs. In response, Abahani won with 4 balls and 4 wickets in hand.

Abahani team leader Mosaddek Hossain Saikat won the toss and invited Sheikh Jamal to bat at Mirpur Sher Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Abahani did not start well after losing the toss and batting. Saif Hasan was out for zero runs, Saikat Ali was out for 8 runs and Rabiul Islam Ravi was out for 5 runs.

Fazle Mahmud and Taibur handled the pressure. Taibur stopped on 53 and Rabi stopped on 40 after completing his fifty. After that, captain Sohan tried to form a pair with Parvez Rasuli. Parvez was stopped at 42 runs but Sohan took his half century. He remained unbeaten on 89 runs. And Ziaur Rahman scored 29 runs before being run out in the last ball.

Two openers Enamul Haque Bijay and Mohammad Naeem Sheikh gave Abahani a great start chasing runs. The two scored 145 runs in the opening pair. That is how Abahani got the basis of victory. Both took fifty. Naeem Sheikh won by 72 runs and was dismissed by 68 runs.

Then Mahmudul Hasan won 9, Zaker Ali 21, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat 22 and Parvez Rasuli got out with 5 runs. Meanwhile, left-handed batsman Afif Hossain Dhrub left the field with the victory. After completing his fifty, he remained unbeaten with 60 runs. Meanwhile, Tanjim Hasan Shakib remained unbeaten on 12 runs.

Parvez Rasuli and Taibur Rahman took maximum two wickets for Sheikh Jamal. Besides, Arif Ahmed and Saif Hasan got one wicket each.

(13 May/MM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article