Friday, September 29, 2023

2023 Women’s World Cup: Spain-England for an unprecedented final Sunday August 20

(Updated August 16, 2023 at 2:34 p.m.) The poster for the final of the 9th edition of the Women’s World Cup is now known. If we knew since the elimination of Japan in the quarter-finals that a new nation would register its name on the winners of the competition on August 20, 2023, it is now written that a European selection will lift the trophy for the first time since 2007 and the title of Germany. The day after Spain’s success over Sweden obtained at the end of regulation time (2-1), it was England who won their ticket to the final by dominating Australia this Wednesday (3-1 ), co-organizer of this World Cup with New Zealand.

Victorious over the French team in the quarter-finals on penalties (0-0, 7-6 pens), the Australians, despite the support of an incandescent public in Sydney’s Stadium Australia, were not in able to overthrow the English. Last year’s European champions, Sarina Wiegman’s proteges opened the scoring through Alessia Russo (36th) and reached half-time on this short advantage. If the Aussies regained hope shortly after the hour mark thanks to a powerful strike from Sam Kerr (63rd), the English finished stronger, no doubt taking advantage of the Australians’ fatigue after their disputed extra time against the Bleues last Saturday. Ellie Carpenter restored the advantage to England (71st) before Alessia Russo completed the British success with a new goal (87th).

Sunday noon (French time), on this same ground, English and Spanish will compete to become the fifth country to win the title of world champion. The Australians will try to console themselves the day before, in Brisbane (10 a.m.), during the small final against Sweden.

The latest World Cup news

Find the latest information on the Women’s World Cup with all the matches of the France team live

When is the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup?

The opening match of the World Cup has been set for Thursday July 20, with New Zealand and Norway facing off. The group stages will continue until August 3 before a latency day.

The rest of the competition will be more decisive with the knockout stages and a final organized on August 20 in Sydney, at Stadium Australia.

Where is the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup taking place?

France was the last host country of the Women’s World Cup in 2019. It passes the torch to co-hosts New Zealand and Australia.

What TV broadcast for the World Cup?

France Télévisions, broadcaster of the Women’s World Cup with M6, has scheduled 32 matches including the opening match, New Zealand-Norway and the final (August 20 at noon). The M6 ​​group broadcasts the other 32 matches.

If the broadcasting of the final was decided by drawing lots, the matches of the final phases were distributed fairly.

What is the schedule for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup?

The Football World Cup lasts a whole month and is played in two phases, first the pools and then the finals.

  • Saturday August 12
  • Quarter-finals 3: Australia – France (Brisbane): 11 a.m.
  • Quarter-finals 4: England – Colombia (Sydney): 12:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday August 15
  • Semi-final 1: Spain – Sweden (Auckland): 10 a.m.
  • Wednesday August 16
  • Semi-final 2: Australia – Winner quarter-final 4 (Sydney): 12:00 p.m.
  • Saturday August 19
  • Small final, match for 3rd place (Brisbane): 10:00 a.m.
  • Sunday August 20
  • Final (Sydney): 12:00 p.m.

What are the winners of the Women’s World Cup?

Disputed since 1991, the Women’s World Cup is very recent. The Mondial 2023 is the 9th edition. Only four nations have won so far.

  • 1995: Norway
  • 2003: Germany
  • 2007: Germany
  • 2011: Japan
  • 2015 : UNITED STATES


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article